forecast weather station weather station

It's Sunday May 28, 2023

2021 Municipal Elections
Election info for Oriental & Minnesott Beach
November 1, 2021

uesday November 2 is Election Day for Pamlico’s municipalities to select their mayor, town commissioners, and council members.

In Oriental, all seats are up for election every two years. That means there is one seat for Mayor and five seats for Town Commissioner open.

Only two signs for Oriental Town Commissioner were seen at Moores Corner: Allen Price and Frank Roe.
Who’s on the ballot in Oriental?
Mayor Sally Belangia is running unopposed for reelection.

Of the five candidates running for the open Commissioner seats, four are current Commissioners: David White, Charlie Overcash, Allen Price, and Sandy Winfrey. Dianne Simmons is the fifth current commissioner, but she is not running for reelection.

Frank Roe is the fifth candidate for commissioner.

While you can choose to vote for all five candidates, you don’t have to. You can choose to vote for just one (or two, etc). The vote you cast won’t be to elect the Commissioners, but to show which Commissioners you support. And perhaps which ones you don’t. There is also the option for a write-in candidates for either race.

• Oriental Sample Ballot

Who’s on the ballot in Minnesott?
Tim Fowler is running unopposed for reelection as Minnesott’s mayor.

Minnesott’s four current commissioners are also running unopposed for their seats. They are Cliff Braly, Kenneth Campen, Adam Garfinkel, and David Gaskins.

• Minnesott Beach Sample Ballot

What about the elections for County Sheriff?
You may have seen political signs for Sheriff in the county. That election is not on this ballot – it’s for next year, November 2022. The Republican and Democrat primary elections for Sheriff are in March of 2022. The candidates whose signs you’ve seen, incumbent Sheriff Chris Davis and candidate Nate Nobel, are both running for the Republican nomination.

Though the election for Sheriff isn’t until next year, both Davis and Nobel – running on the Republican ticket – already have their signs out.
Where to vote?
Municipal elections will take place at precinct polling locations Tuesday, November 2, 2021 from 6:30a – 7:30p. Minnesott Beach and Arapahoe will use the Arapahoe Fire Station.

Questions about the election or where to vote? Call the Pamlico County Board of Elections at 252-745-4821.

Polling Locations:
Alliance Town Hall:
934 Main St
Alliance, NC 28509

Arapahoe Fire Department:
8233 S NC Highway 306
Arapahoe, NC 28510

Courthouse Annex:
202 Main St
Bayboro, NC 28515

Grantsboro Town Hall:
10628 NC Highway 55
Grantsboro, NC 28529

Hobucken community Center:
145 Hobucken School Rd
Hobucken, NC 28537

Mesic Town Hall:
9275 NC Highway 304
Mesic, NC 28515

Oriental Fire Department:
6398 Straight Rd
Oriental, NC 28571

Reelsboro Fire Department:
105 Holland Rd
New Bern, NC 28560

Stonewall Town Hall:
74 Spain Farm Rd
Stonewall, NC 28583

Vandemere Town Hall:
1378 Pennsylvania Ave
Vandemere, NC 28587

Posted Monday November 1, 2021 by Allison DeWeese

Share this page:

back to top