forecast weather station weather station
County Commissioners Talk Regional Reopening
May 4 County Board of Commissioners
May 6, 2020

ommissioner Paul Delamar introduced a ‘Proclamation Requesting to Allow Businesses to Reopen’ at the Pamlico County Commissioner’s May 4 meeting. Non-essential businesses in North Carolina have been closed since early April.

Commissioner Delamar laid out his reasoning for the proclamation, citing low case numbers in the area and the need for small businesses to get back to work.

Commissioner Carl Ollison dissented, stating it was too soon to open up and the board should wait until Governor Cooper made his next statement about the phased reopening of that state. (Governor Cooper announced his plans on Tuesday following the meeting.)

The Board of Commissioners passed the proclamation request 6-1.

The rest of the meeting was devoted to regular county business including proposed improvements to the water treatment plants for Grantsboro and Kershaw and adopting the Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance.

All items on the agenda were approved unanimously, with the exception of the letter to Governor Cooper.

You can listen to the full meeting below, or click on a timestamp on the video to move to that individual section. The video begins in the middle of the Public Comments section.

View the agenda here.

0:57 Comments on Public Hearing
2:37 Approval of the Consent Agenda, items 1-6
2:48 Discussion on the Interlocal Building Inspection Services Agreement
8:34 Request for approval of the Public Hearing to approve the Flood Damage and Prevention Ordinance
18:49 Request for approval of Payment Plans for Delinquent Payments Resulting from Executive Order 124
22:45 Request for approval of Grantsboro and Kershaw Water Treatment Plant Improvements
45:40 Request for approval of Proclamation Requesting to Allow Businesses to Reopen
1:08:35 Commissioner Ollison Dissents
1:23:40 Request for approval to reappoint Mr. Robert Sadler to ABC Board
1:36:01 Closed Session

In attendance:
Chairman Pat Prescott
Commissioner Paul Delamar III
Commissioner Doug Brinson
Commissioner Candy Bohmert
Commissioner Edward Riggs, Jr.
Commissioner Carl Ollison
Commissioner Missy Baskervill

Posted Wednesday May 6, 2020 by Allison DeWeese

Share this page: emailEmail
back to top